Grindr

So until yesterday I had never heard of this app.  In any case a friend of mine uses it. He is a very sweet, nice guy who happens to be Trans(FtM). In all the time I’ve known him around 6 years I think now. We’ve worked at two different  places together. He wouldn’t even harm a fly unless the fly asked him to. He’s nice that way.

The point I’m getting at is about to be made. He was using Grindr and I guess another user of the app took drastic offense of him being on there. Perceiving his lack of the chromosome as offensive.  This exchange took place.

18192353_1240495362729723_9207363953299018159_o

Even I’m like wtf? This is how another member of the LGBTQ community treats another. So I looked up Grindr to see what it was and learn about it. Coming across this  comment from its creator Joel Simkhai, whom himself is a member of the LGBTQ community. The comment taken from an article on Haaretz . “I don’t like it,” he says, “but it’s not my job to police such things. I’m not a sixth-grade teacher.” As he is quoted as saying.

So while I’m still annoyed over the user on the other side speaking that way on Grindr, I’m actually more concerned over the comment made by it’s creator. It is your job. It’s your app, you made it. You should want a peaceful , tolerant  group on your app. Otherwise your no better than the users who spew the hate speech. Inaction is the same as agreeing with it when your in a position to control such things. I can’t even fathom the thought process he had saying that.

Hell this blog isn’t exactly mine per se, it ‘s on wordpress etc. But I’d shutdown the first hate speaking, bigot who’d popped up in a heart beat who commented on any post on here. Because it’s my blog.

Leave a Reply

