The Spiral

Down the spiral

Of information gone viral

So many reasons to go

Wrapped in my brain

So few to stay

Begin to circle the drain

I use to stand so tall

I got back up after every fall

 

Took every hit

Always biting off more than I could chew

Because it’s the only life I knew

I never knew when to quit

I became addicted to the taste

Of living a life out of place

 

Looking back

Looking in

On a life that never was

On all I would lack

I was unstoppable

Perfectly unblockable

Yet I was losing as a brave fool often does

Countless was the sweet sin

 

Pointless was the repent

The soul of silver had been spent

To battle the storms within that persist

And I would forever exist

 

Try as I might

I would grasp at the light

And grab only darkness

To cloak my sadness

In the melancholy of my hours

Spent in the chill of April showers

 

Of happiness I would dream

In the suns golden stream

Yet I knew the clouds would always darken

The truth of my soul forgotten

 

I would be stone cold sober

And know my pain is not over

As the first sip

Found its mark upon my lip

Trying to be numb

To all that life has done

And wishing for more

More time before I expired

Even though I am beyond tired

 

So diabolic

The bitter sweet tonic

Of hope

When one is trying to cope

The night goes long

For my will is strong

Even when my soul is weak

And my heart is meek

 

It’s my end

I don’t pretend

It’ll be pretty

I’ll go just as gritty

Into that final night

As I boldly stepped from the light

Leave a Reply

