Melancholy Dance

Long have I peered into darkness

Seeing all of the madness

The tragedy of joy

The gifts it brings

Long have I known the melancholy tune it sings

I hear it as a man as clearly as I heard it as a boy

 

I know the steps of its dance

I know the path it takes

And the light it forsakes

I hold the wicked and righteous in temperance

For neither know the truth of their way

Neither have the strength to sway

 

The outcomes of destiny

In the manner they seek

For in truth they are week

Reeking of fear and zealous pride

Their true self they hide

They cannot see what is to be

 

That fate long ago decreed

That in the end , all would fall to greed

A greed for love, a greed for power

Is still greed in any form at any hour

 

So here I sit along the shore

Wishing for nothing more

Than I deserve

For the melancholy dance I serve

Leave a Reply

