Frayed

​Once again I slip 

The rope I’m clinging to frays

My hands bleeding 

From the feeling of constant needing

Trying so hard throughout my days

I feel my skin rip

As further I slide down the rope 

For me there seems to be little hope

The blood thickens

As my decent quickens

All I ever wanted was quiet 

Peace of mind

Yet never do I find

The one thing I desire

Neither day nor night 

Gives any respite

From the burning fire

Inside my soul

As my heart grows cold 

Just once I’d like to know

Why the universe just won’t leave good enough alone

Why must it take away the light

And chill me to the bone

One thought on “Frayed

Leave a Reply

