Envy ( 7 Deadly )

​I know  this sin all to well

It’s  not riches

Nor beauty I envy

It’s  the things others take for granted 

It’s the simple pleasures of their day

The ones they never notice but I do

It’s the friends, the family 

The feeling  of connection to the world  around

Even when they argue there’s love

I’m  envious of this

It’s  a feeling I’m  sure I felt once

And now it’s  that I miss

Now all I do is witness

And feel the hollow spot in my chest 

As it tightens and frightens 

That all I will feel is my envy

Leave a Reply

